Pattullo Bridge overnight closures begin October 15

October 06, 2019

New Westminster, BC — The Pattullo Bridge will be subject to some overnight closures commencing October 15 until November 4. The closures only apply to northbound traffic on certain evenings (see below table). Drivers planning to travel northbound toward New Westminster during the affected times should plan alternate routes.

The closures are to support bridge user safety through the continued installation of an early seismic activity and wind warning system.

Installation includes:

  • Seismic activity and wind warning sensors
  • Bridge closure devices
  • Fibre-optic cables
  • Advanced warning lights and signs

When complete, the new system will be able to block entry to the bridge in the event of a seismic or high wind event. The installation is projected to be completed by the end of this year.

Bridge users are encouraged to use the Port Mann or Alex Fraser Bridge as alternatives during the closures. Affected northbound N19 bus trips will be re-routed over the Queensborough Bridge. Affected customers should plan for an additional 30 minutes of travel time. Emergency vehicles, cyclists and pedestrians will be able to cross the bridge in both directions at all times.

The following closures are northbound only:

Day Date Start Time End Time
Tuesday October 15 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Wednesday October 16 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Thursday October 17 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Friday October 18 No planned closures
Saturday October 19 No planned closures
Sunday October 20 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Monday October 21 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Tuesday October 22 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Wednesday October 23 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Thursday October 24 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Friday October 25 No planned closures
Saturday October 26 No planned closures
Sunday October 27 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Monday October 28 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Tuesday October 29 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Wednesday October 30 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Thursday October 31 No planned closures
Friday November 1 No planned closures
Saturday November 2 No planned closures
Sunday November 3 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Monday November 4 10 p.m. 5 a.m.

We thank bridge users and neighbours for their patience during these times.


Learn more:
TransLink Maintenance and Repair Program


For interview and clip requests:
media@translink.ca

    Contact Us

    people on skytrain platform
    • Address: 400 - 287 Nelson's Court, New Westminster, BC
    • Media Contact Hours:
      8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
    • Email: media@translink.ca