We have a new site! Updated design, easier to navigate, new Trip Planner and more.

Visit the new site

Pattullo Bridge overnight closures begin November 24

November 22, 2019

NEW WESTMINSTER, BC — The Pattullo Bridge will be closed overnight in one direction from November 24 to December 12 for the continued installation of an early seismic activity and wind warning system. The closures will happen Sunday to Thursday, with the bridge remaining open in both directions on Friday and Saturday evenings. Closures will only affect one direction at a time (see tables below).

 

Southbound closure timetable for traffic toward Surrey:

Day Date Start time End time
Sunday November 24 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Monday November 25 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Tuesday November 26 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Wednesday November 27 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Thursday November 28 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Friday* November 29 No planned closure
Saturday* November 30 No planned closure
Sunday December 1 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Monday December 2 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Tuesday December 3 10 p.m. 5 a.m.

 

Northbound closure timetable for traffic toward New Westminster:

Day Date Start time End time
Wednesday December 4 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Thursday December 5 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Friday* December 6 No planned closure
Saturday* December 7 No planned closure
Sunday December 8 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Monday December 9 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Tuesday December 10 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Wednesday December 11 10 p.m. 5 a.m.
Thursday December 12 10 p.m. 5 a.m.

 

Pattullo Bridge users are encouraged to use the Port Mann or Alex Fraser bridges as alternatives during the closures. Affected N19 bus trips will be re-routed over the Queensborough Bridge. Affected customers should plan for an additional 30 minutes of travel time. Emergency vehicles, cyclists, and pedestrians will be able to cross the bridge in both directions at all times.

 

Installation includes:

  • Seismic activity and wind warning sensors
  • Bridge closure devices
  • Fibre-optic cables
  • Advanced warning lights and signs

When complete, the new system will be able to block entry to the bridge in the event of a seismic or high wind event. The system is scheduled for activation in the coming weeks, following a round of successful full-system tests.

We thank bridge users and neighbours for their patience during these times.

 

Learn more:

TransLink Maintenance and Repair Program

 

For interview and clip requests:

TransLink Media Relations
E: media@translink.ca

TransLink is Metro Vancouver's regional transportation authority, and is the first North American transportation authority to be responsible for the planning, financing and managing of all public transit in addition to major regional roads and bridges.

    Contact Us

    people on skytrain platform
    • Address: 400 - 287 Nelson's Court, New Westminster, BC
    • Media Contact Hours:
      8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
    • Email: media@translink.ca